Dad’s in town, basketball with friends

I can’t sleep. I’m elated and overwhelmed by the fun day I’ve had. Writing as I am snuggled up in my warm bed on yet another winter cold night. It is Sunday. My dad is in town on business! Today we spent the day together. We met at 8 at the train station, had breakfast at Denny’s, and walked to church (along the lake). We had so much to talk about you wouldn’t believe it’s only been a month and a half since I was home visiting. At church, my dad was treated as a prince! My church family is the best, don’t get me started. We had lunch together there (curry rice) and I was happy to be able to express and understand some things because my dad translated. His Japanese is fluent, of course, where as I struggle with communicating things like ideas or impressions (at least for now). They were ecstatic to meet him, and vice versa. After church we stopped by work. My dad was able to meet my co-worker and see my desk, etc. We had coffee at the station and my good friend James stopped by (unplanned). Overall, my dad and I enjoyed a good time of fellowship and encouragement. We don’t see eye to eye on everything, but I am so happy to we are able to spur one another on toward love & good deeds (Heb. 10:24)! He did have to go back in to Tokyo that afternoon and so we parted ways. That night was another basketball night! A friend drove us to the gym. We met a new group of friends and I may even get together with them for dinner soon. It was totally fun. What a great day! My dad and I ended up walking about 4 miles together, I rode my bike at least 2 miles, and another 1 1/2 of running in basketball! Wow! Off to work tomorrow. Hello Monday, here I come!

